Board of Directors

The Council maintains a board of 18 South Dakotans who set policy, provide guidance and determine programming goals and missions. The board is composed of citizens with varied backgrounds who serve as volunteer board members. Four members of the Council board are appointed by the Governor of South Dakota.

2017-18 SDHC Board of Directors

Eric Abrahamson, Executive Committee, At Large
Principal Historian, Rapid City

Dick Brown
Fundraising Consultant, Custer

Cathy Clark
Retired Banker, Sioux Falls

Darlene Farabee
Associate Professor/Chair of English at USD, Vermillion

Tom Fishback, Chair-Elect
Banker, Brookings

Karen Hall
Environmental Engineer and Writer, Rapid City

Katie Hunhoff, Executive Committee, At Large
Publisher, Yankton

Julie Johnson
Attorney, Mina

Russell McKnight, Secretary
Project Lead & Design Consultant, Sioux Falls

James E. McMahon
Attorney, Canton

Judith Meierhenry, Chair
Retired Supreme Court Justice, Sioux Falls

Julie Moore Peterson
Director, Sturgis

Scott Rausch
Department Head, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Piedmont

Whitney Rencountre
Program Coordinator, Rapid City

Vonnie Shields
Community Volunteer, Pierre

Tamara St. John
Tribal Archivist, Sisseton

Kristi Tornquist
Chief University Librarian/Professor at SDSU, Brookings

David Wolff, Treasurer
Retired History Professor, Spearfish

Programs & Events

9:00 am | Aberdeen Elementary Schools
7:00 pm | K.O. Lee Aberdeen Public Library
9:00 am | Aberdeen Elementary Schools
12:00 pm | St Thomas More Social Hall
9:00 am | Lake Area Technical Institute