Maps & Info

Read Up on the Festival

Below is information about the 2017 South Dakota Festival of Books, which was held in Deadwood Sept. 21-24. Keep an eye on for information about the 2018 Festival of Books, held Sept. 20-23 in Brookings and Sioux Falls. 

Festival events at a Glance (downloadable fliers below)

The annual South Dakota Festival of Books unites thousands of readers and writers for book discussions, autograph sessions and more. Authors Phillip Deloria and Genieve Abdo highlighted our 2017 "Race and Civility" theme (pictured to the right), while 2017 One Book author J. Ryan Stradal presented his unique debut novel that provides timely and at times humorous commentary on current food trends. 

Meanwhile, the 2017 Young Readers selection was “Tales from Deckawoo Drive,” a bind-in of three books in a series written by Kate DiCamillo and illustrated by Chris Van Dusen.  

SDHC celebrated its 45th anniversary at the 2017 Festival of Books, which marks its own 15-year anniversary. Download fliers below for more information about the Festival, which will be in Brookings in 2018. 

Downloadable Resources

Download schedules, maps, event fliers and more to navigate your trip!

Event Fliers


(Click to read or right click and choose "Save Target As" to download)


Navigating the Festival

Interactive Map