Varian Johnson

Varian Johnson
Young Readers

South Carolina native and Texas resident Varian Johnson is an engineer and the award-winning author of six novels, including the Jackson Greene middle-grade series. The first book in the series, The Great Greene Heist, was an ALA Notable Children’s Book Selection and a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year, and has been named to more than 25 state reading and best-of lists. His books for older readers include My Life as a Rhombus and Saving Maddie.

Related Presenters:

  • Non-Fiction, South Dakota Authors, Young Readers
    The World Is Awake: A Celebration of Everyday Blessings
  • History, Illustrators, Tribal, Young Readers
    Red Cloud: A Lakota Story of War and Surrender
  • Illustrators, Young Readers
    Secret Coders: Secrets & Sequences
  • Illustrators, South Dakota Authors, Young Readers
    The Monster Who Ate the State