Event Calendar

August 23, 2018

Central States Fair, Fine Arts Building
10:00 am - 11:00 am

Scholar: Molly Barari

Venue Address: 800 San Francisco St, Rapid City

Sponsored By: Central States Fair, Inc.

For more information, contact: Betty Bowers <bobnbetty@rushmore.com>

Central States Fair, Fine Arts Building
1:30 pm - 2:30 pm

Scholar: Molly Barari

Venue Address: 800 San Francisco St, Rapid City

Sponsored By: Central States Fair, Inc.

For more information, contact: Betty Bowers <bobnbetty@rushmore.com>

Fort Pierre Moose Lodge
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Scholar: Pegie Douglas

Venue Address: 910 N Deadwood St, Fort Pierre

Sponsored By: Short Grass Arts Council

For more information, contact: Jane Page <janep@pie.midco.net>

August 24, 2018

Edgewood Senior Living
2:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Scholar: Pegie Douglas

Venue Address: 1950 E 4th St, Pierre

Sponsored By: Edgewood Senior Living

For more information, contact: Aundrea Wilson <aundrea.wilson@edgewoodvista.com>

August 25, 2018

Geddes Historical Village
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Scholar: Brad Tennant

Venue Address: S Main St, Geddes

Sponsored By: Charles Mix County Historical Restoration Society

For more information, contact: Ron Dufek <dufsdfek@midstatesd.net>

Sisseton City Hall
5:30 pm - 7:30 pm

Meal begins at 5:30 PM, program to follow at 6:00 PM.

Scholar: Lawrence Diggs

Venue Address: 406 2nd Ave W, Sisseton

Sponsored By: Bahá'ís of Sisseton

For more information, contact: Richard DeLoughery <rickdelory@gmail.com>

August 27, 2018

Brookings Public Library
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Scholar: John Miller

Venue Address: 515 3rd St, Brookings

Sponsored By: Brookings Public Library

For more information, contact: Rae Brecht <rbrecht@cityofbrookings.org>

Pembrook Attendance Center (School)
7:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Scholar: Verna K. Boyd

Venue Address: 35955 139th St, Ipswich

Sponsored By: Pembrook Colony Elementary School

For more information, contact: Janice Perrion <janice.perrion@k12.sd.us>

August 29, 2018

Westhills Village
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Scholar: Pegie Douglas

Venue Address: 255 Texas St, Rapid City

Sponsored By: Westhills Village

For more information, contact: Nedra Harrod <nedra.harrod@whvrc.com>

September 6, 2018

AARP Building
10:00 am - 12:00 pm

Internal audience only.

Scholar: Sharon Olbertson

Venue Address: 5101 S Nevada Ave Ste 150, Sioux Falls

Sponsored By: Osher Lifelong Learning Institute

For more information, contact: Nancy Wehrkamp <nancy.wehrkamp@sduniversitycenter.org>

Edgewood Vista
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Internal audience only.

Scholar: Pegie Douglas

Venue Address: 540 Falcon Crest Dr, Spearfish

Sponsored By: Edgewood Vista Senior Living

For more information, contact: Catherine Viken <catherine.viken@edgewoodvista.com>

September 11, 2018

Hearst Library
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Book Club regular monthly meeting, public invited.

Scholar: Dorothy Liegl

Venue Address: 315 W Main St, Lead

Sponsored By: Phoebe Apperson Hearst Library

For more information, contact: Cyndie Harlan <cyndieh@cityoflead.com>

Sturgis Public Library, Program Room
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Scholar: Molly Barari

Venue Address: 1040 Harley Davidson Way, Sturgis

Sponsored By: Sturgis Area Arts Council

For more information, contact: Dorothy Pulscher <dapulscher@gmail.com>

September 12, 2018

SD School of Mines & Technology
4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Scholar: Molly Rozum

Venue Address: 501 E St Joseph St, Rapid City

Sponsored By: League of Women Voters of SD

For more information, contact: Kathryn Johnson <kj24054@gmail.com>

September 13, 2018

AARP SD State Office
10:00 am - 12:00 pm

Internal audience only.*

Scholar: Sharon Olbertson

Venue Address: 5101 S Nevada Ave Ste 150, Sioux Falls

Sponsored By: Osher Lifelong Learning Institute

For more information, contact: Nancy Wehrkamp <nancy.wehrkamp@sduniversitycenter.org>

*Readers will encounter numerous nationally-renowned SD writers in three works. In addition to This Stretch of the River will be Completing the Circle, by Virginia Driving Hawk Sneve and The Power of Horses, by Elizabeth Cook-Lynn.

Brookings Public Library
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Internal audience only.

Scholar: Mary Haug

Venue Address: 515 3rd St, Brookings

Sponsored By: Osher Lifelong Learning Institute

For more information, contact: Nancy Wehrkamp <nancy.wehrkamp@sduniversitycenter.org>

Grace Balloch Memorial Library
5:30 pm - 6:30 pm

Scholar: Molly Rozum

Venue Address: 625 N 5th St, Spearfish

Sponsored By: League of Women Voters of SD

For more information, contact: Rebecca Rodriguez <rebecca.rodriguez@cityofspearfish.com>

Rapid City Public Library
6:30 pm - 7:30 pm

Scholar: Molly Barari

Venue Address: 610 Quincy St, Rapid City

Sponsored By: Rapid City Public Library

For more information, contact: Janet Parr <jparr@rcplib.org>

First Presbyterian Church
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Scholar: Lori M. Walsh

Venue Address: 2300 S West Ave, Sioux Falls

Sponsored By: First Presbyterian Readers Group

For more information, contact: Linda Rasmussen <dlrasmussen@sio.midco.net>

Ramkota Exhibit Hall
7:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Scholar: Tamara Eagle Bull

Venue Address: 3200 W Maple St, Sioux Falls

Sponsored By: American Institute of Architects (AIA) South Dakota

For more information, contact: Angela Lammers <angela@aiasouthdakota.org>

September 14, 2018

Brown County Fairgrounds
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Venue Address: 400 24th Ave NW, Aberdeen

Sponsored By: NESD Celtic Faire and Games

For more information, contact: Betty Burdick <bburdick@abe.midco.net>

September 15, 2018

Marcus P. Beebe Memorial Library
10:00 am - 11:00 am

Scholar: Kiera Ball

Venue Address: 120 Main St, Ipswich

Sponsored By: Marcus P. Beebe Memorial Library

For more information, contact: Marion Heintzman <mjhammrich@valleytel.net>

Exposure Gallery
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Scholar: Lawrence Diggs

Venue Address: 401 N Phillips Ave, Sioux Falls

Sponsored By: The Blot Collective

For more information, contact: Sion Lidster <sionlidster@gmail.com>

September 16, 2018

Downtown Library, Siouxland Libraries
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Scholar: Molly Rozum

Venue Address: 200 N Dakota Ave, Sioux Falls

Sponsored By: League of Women Voters of Sioux Falls

For more information, contact: Jane Healy <jhealy2@siouxfalls.org>

September 17, 2018

Wesley Acres
6:30 pm - 7:30 pm

Scholar: Rick W. Mills

Venue Address: 1115 West Havens, Mitchell

Sponsored By: Mitchell Area Historical Society

For more information, contact: Lyle Swenson <wyobets@gmail.com>