Event Calendar

October 2, 2018

Capital University Center
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Scholar: Tony Mangan

Venue Address: 925 E Sioux Ave, Pierre

Sponsored By: Osher Lifelong Learning Institute

For more information, contact: Nancy Wehrkamp <nancy.wehrkamp@sduniversitycenter.org>

October 3, 2018

Hot Springs Public Library
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Scholar: Molly Barari

Venue Address: 2005 Library Dr, Hot Springs

Sponsored By: Hot Springs Public Library

For more information, contact: Dawn Johnson <hsplib@hs-sd.org>

October 4, 2018

Homestake Adams Research and Cultural Center
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Scholar: Donovin Sprague

Venue Address: 150 Sherman St, Deadwood

Sponsored By: Deadwood History, Inc

For more information, contact: Rose Speirs <rose@deadwoodhistory.com>

SDSU Performing Arts Center
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Scholar: Alicia Partnoy

Venue Address: 1601 University Ave, Brookings

Sponsored By: SDSU, Department of Modern Languages & Global Studies

For more information, contact: Christine Garst-Santos <christine.garst-santos@sdstate.edu> or visit www.sdstate.edu/globalhumanrights

October 5, 2018

Edith B. Siegrist Vermillion Public Library
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Venue Address: 18 Church St, Vermillion

Sponsored By: Vermillion Public Library

For more information, contact: Rachelle Langdon <rachelle.langdon@vermillionpubliclibrary.org>

Vermillion Public Library
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Venue Address: 18 Church St, Vermillion

Sponsored By: Osher Lifelong Learning Institute

For more information, contact: Nancy Wehrkamp <nancy.wehrkamp@sduniversitycenter.org>

SDSU Performing Arts Center
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Scholar: Nicole Hassoun

Venue Address: 1601 University Ave, Brookings

Sponsored By: SDSU, Department of Modern Languages & Global Studies

For more information, contact: Christine Garst-Santos <christine.garst-santos@sdstate.edu> or visit www.sdstate.edu/globalhumanrights

October 6, 2018

SDSU
This is an all-day event

Venue Address: 1015 Campanile Ave, Brookings

Sponsored By: SDSU, Department of Modern Languages & Global Studies

For more information, contact: Christine Garst-Santos <christine.garst-santos@sdstate.edu>

October 7, 2018

Timber Lake & Area Museum
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Scholar: Bill Markley

Venue Address: 802 Main St, Timber Lake

Sponsored By: Timber Lake and Area Historical Society

For more information, contact: Kathy S. Nelson <timtopic@lakotanetwork.com>

Siouxland Libraries, Downtown Branch
1:30 pm - 4:00 pm

Scholar: Patrick Hicks

Venue Address: 200 N Dakota Ave, Sioux Falls

Sponsored By: Siouxland Libraries - Caille Branch

For more information, contact: Karen Scarborough <kscarborough@siouxfalls.org>

October 9, 2018

Georgia Morse Middle School
1:10 pm - 2:10 pm

Internal audience only.

Scholars: Joyce Jefferson and Lillian Witt

Venue Address: 309 E Capitol Ave, Pierre

Sponsored By: Pierre Public School

For more information, contact: Donna Stroup <donna.stroup@k12.sd.us>

Armour High School Gym
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Scholar: Jean Patrick

Venue Address: 905 Dobson St, Armour

Sponsored By: Armour After-school Program

For more information, contact: Marian Biederstedt <marian.biederstedt@k12.sd.us>

October 10, 2018

T. F. Riggs High School
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Internal audience only.

Scholars: Joyce Jefferson and Lillian Witt

Venue Address: 1010 E Broadway, Pierre

Sponsored By: Pierre Public School

For more information, contact: Donna Stroup <donna.stroup@k12.sd.us>

October 11, 2018

Huron High School Auditorium
8:05 am - 9:05 am

Venue Address: 801 18th St SW, Huron

Sponsored By: Huron Area Concert Association (HACA)

For more information, contact: Bob Eickhoff <bobeickhoff@hur.midco.net>

Madison Public Library
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Scholar: Molly Rozum

Venue Address: 209 E Center, Madison

Sponsored By: League of Women Voters of SD

For more information, contact: Nancy Saabe <nancy.sabbe@cityofmadisonsd.com>

October 12, 2018

Holiday Inn
This is an all-day event

Open to general public/individuals not presenting at the conference at a reduced fee. Events will be free for undergraduate and high school students.

Venue Address: 100 W 8th St, Sioux Falls

Sponsored By: SDSU, English Dept

For more information, contact: Sharon Smith <sharon.smith@sdstate.edu>

Lake Norden Community Center
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Scholar: Rick W. Mills

Venue Address: 520 Main Ave, Lake Norden

Sponsored By: Lake Norden Historical Society

For more information, contact: Alvin Kangas <alvinkangas@yahoo.com>

October 13, 2018

Holiday Inn
This is an all-day event

Open to general public/individuals not presenting at the conference at a reduced fee. Events will be free for undergraduate and high school students.

Venue Address: 100 W 8th St, Sioux Falls

Sponsored By: SDSU, English Dept

For more information, contact: Sharon Smith <sharon.smith@sdstate.edu>

October 17, 2018

Outlaw Ranch
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Internal audience only.

Scholar: Paul Horsted

Venue Address: 12703 Outlaw Ranch Rd, Custer

Sponsored By: Lutherans Outdoors in SD, Outlaw Ranch

For more information, contact: Matt Rusch <matt@losd.org>

October 18, 2018

Bethany Meadows Community Room
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Scholar: Yvonne Hollenbeck

Venue Address: 3008 E Aspen Blvd, Brandon

Sponsored By: Bethany Meadows

For more information, contact: Kaitlyn Wheelock <kwheelock@bethanylutheranhome.com>

Yankton Community Library
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Scholar: James Sullivan

Venue Address: 515 Walnut, Yankton

Sponsored By: Yankton Community Library

For more information, contact: Linda Dobrovolny

October 20, 2018

Lennox Community LIbrary
9:30 am - 10:30 am

Scholar: Marilyn Carlson Aronson

Venue Address: 208 W 5th Ave, Lennox

Sponsored By: Lennox Community Library

For more information, contact: Laurel Shaffer <lshaffer@iw.net>

October 22, 2018

Watertown Regional Library
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Scholar: Lawrence Diggs

Venue Address: 160 6th St NE, Watertown

Sponsored By: Watertown Regional Library

For more information, contact: Maria Gruener <mgruener@watertownsd.us>

October 23, 2018

Mitchell Public Library
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Scholar: Molly Rozum

Venue Address: 221 N Duff St, Mitchell

Sponsored By: Mitchell Public Library

For more information, contact: Jackie Hess <jhess@cityofmitchell.org>

October 24, 2018

Hand County Library
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Scholar: Brad Tennant

Venue Address: 402 N Broadway, Miller

Sponsored By: Hand County Library

For more information, contact: Ray Caffee <db.hcl@midconetwork.com>

October 25, 2018

University of South Dakota
This is an all-day event

Readings are open to the public and free to attendees.

Venue Address: 414 E Clark St, Vermillion

Sponsored By: University of South Dakota

For more information, contact: Leah McCormack <leah.mccormack@usd.edu>

October 26, 2018

University of South Dakota
This is an all-day event

Readings are open to the public and free to attendees.

Venue Address: 414 E Clark St, Vermillion

Sponsored By: University of South Dakota

For more information, contact: Leah McCormack <leah.mccormack@usd.edu>

October 27, 2018

University of South Dakota
This is an all-day event

Readings are open to the public and free to attendees.

Venue Address: 414 E Clark St, Vermillion

Sponsored By: University of South Dakota

For more information, contact: Leah McCormack <leah.mccormack@usd.edu>